02-03 DECEMBER 2021


ITM Colloquium

Emerging and re-emerging epidemics with a special focus on
neglected tropical and zoonotic diseases

The Department of Veterinary Tropical Diseases, Faculty of Veterinary Science, University of Pretoria, South Africa and the Institute of Tropical Medicine (ITM)  in Antwerp, Belgium,  have joined forces for the organisation of the 62nd ITM Virtual Colloquium  (2-3 December 2021). This second virtual edition will take place from 2-3 December 2021 and will  cover emerging and re-emerging epidemics, with a special focus on neglected tropical and zoonotic diseases.

Experts from South Africa and around the world will discuss the current COVID-19 pandemic including other (re)-emerging infectious threats that have the potential to erupt into pandemics. Special attention will be given to trans-disciplinary and interdisciplinary approaches for the reduction of disease burden and the improvement and promotion of health. Innovative tools for a better understanding of pathogen detection, disease diagnosis and control at the human-animal-wildlife interfaces are key to address these diseases.  

This event offers a platform for researchers, health professionals and policy makers to identify how key research findings can contribute to solutions and inform policy-making.   

Within the general topic, the following five themes will be discussed:    

  1. One health approaches to manage epidemics and pandemics
  2. Guidelines: Outbreak preparedness and response for scientists and policymakers
  3. Social, ecological and economic impacts of pandemics on health systems and livelihoods
  4. Drivers of the emergence and spread of infectious epidemics
  5. Recent trends for detection, prevention, and control mechanisms

Head of Institutions

Prof Vinny Naidoo

Dr Marc-Alain Widdowson

Steering/Organising Committee

Prof Tshepo Matjila

Prof Pierre Dorny

Dr Veronique Dermauw

Prof Marinda Oosthuizen

Prof Mieke Stevens

Dr Anton Baert

Ms Cleo Maerivoet

Ms Rina Serfontein

Ms Louise O’Connor

Dr Raksha V Bhoora

Ms Nokuzola Nkosi

Dr Aqil Jeenah

Prof Kgomotso Sibeko-Matjila

Prof Melvyn Quan

Ms Linda Poggenpoel

Scientific Committee

Prof Tshepo Matjila

Prof Peter Thompson

Dr Veronique Dermauw

Prof Pierre Dorny

Prof Henriette van Heerde

Prof Marinda Oosthuizen

Prof Melvyn Quan

Dr Leen Rigouts

Dr Wim Van Bortel 

Prof Jan Van Den Abbeele

Prof Marianne van der Sande

Prof Lucille Blumberg

Prof Folorunso Oludayo Fasina 

Prof John Frean

Prof Frans Jongejan

Dr Darryn Knobel

Prof Anita Michel

Prof Bob Swanepoel

Dr Soledad Colombe 

Dr Ralph Huits